Buy Scotch Whiskey | The Ultimate Guide to Whisky Investment

It’s not uncommon for people to buy whisky as an investment. Especially old and rare whiskies. If you want to buy Scotch Whisky but are unsure where to start, then this article will hopefully help!

Different Types of Scotch Whisky

There are many different types of Scotch whisky to choose from, these include;

Single Malt

Single malt Scotch whisky is one of the most popular choices of Scotch in the world. It is an aged whisky made by a single distillery and is made using only malted barley and water. It contains no other cereals or grains. When people buy Scotch whisky that is single malt, they know when they’re going to get.

Single Grain

Single grain whisky is rarely found on the shelves in supermarkets or round-the-corner liquor stores. It starts off with water and malted barley, additional whole grains and cereals are added to it which means by law it can’t be called a single malt. Just like any Scotch whisky, it needs to be bottled in Scotland to be able to hold the name “Scotch.”

Blended Scotch

Blended scotch is made from at least one or more single malts whiskies that are blended with a single grain Scotch whisky – sometimes as many as 40 separate single malts can be put into one blended scotch.

Blended Malt Scotch

One of the most uncommon types of scotch whisky is the blended malt Scotch. This is when two or more, single malt Scotch whiskies from at least two separate distillers are blended into one batch.

Blended Grain Scotch

This is similar to a blended malt, two or more single grain Scotch whiskies are taken from at least two separate distilleries and blended together to make one batch.

Double Malt Scotch

Double malt Scotch, technically doesn’t exist. Instead, this is a term referred to a whisky that has aged in two or more types of casks. Technically, it would still be classed as a single malt, but this terminology is common in the whisky world.

Scotch whisky is very prestigious and distillers have to follow and uphold a number of codes in order for their produce to be legally a Scotch. This is so when people buy scotch whisky, they know that the quality of what they’re getting matches the price.

Regions of Scotland

Scotland produces a variety of whiskies that all have a distinct flavour based on their region. It is split up into five regions including;

The Highlands

There are many highland distilleries including;

  • Aberfeldy
  • Balblair
  • Ben Nevis
  • Clynelish
  • The Dalmore
  • Dalwinnie
  • Glen Ord
  • Glenmorangie
  • Oban
  • Old Pulteney

Highland Scotch whisky is medium bodied and typically lighter and more luxurious than Islay whisky, but stronger than Lowland whisky.

The Lowlands

There are currently four distilleries currently in The Lowlands including;

  • Auchentoshan
  • Bladnoch
  • Glenkinchie
  • Draftmill (first release of production in 2015)

Considered the lighter and more delicate out of all the shaky regions.


Speyside has the most distilleries in the country, some of these include;

  • Aberlour
  • The Balvenie
  • Cardhu
  • Cragganmore
  • Glenfarclas
  • Glenfiddich
  • Glenglassaugh
  • The Glenlivet
  • Glen Moray
  • The Macallan

Speyside is home to the most elegant whiskies in Scotland.


Campbeltown is home to three active distilleries;

  • Glen Scotia
  • Glengyle
  • Springbank

The majority of the bottles they produce are 10 years old.

buy scotch whisky


Islay has eight active distilleries;

  • Ardbeg
  • Bowmore
  • Bruichladdich
  • Caol Ila
  • Kilchoman
  • Lagavulin
  • Laphroaig

Islay whiskies are usually heavily peated, oily and have even been compared to iodine.

buy scotch whisky